RAC Winter Contest and FlexRadio 1500

Ran QRP during the 24-hour RAC Winter Contest and made some new discoveries about the Flex 1500 and my computers. Was getting an occasional burst of noise on receive and dropped CW characters on transmit so went into the computer’s administrative tools and turned off everything I could.

All of sudden, the 1500 and the Windows 7 computer started to cooperate for the first time and no crackling noises and no dropped CW characters. Neat.

I’m also using a trackball mouse which complements the SDR software tuning. I can move slowly or quickly as I desire and with the program that activates whichever window the mouse is hovering over I no longer find I’m making sudden and unexpected frequency changes.

At 5 watts I did a couple of hundred of Qs including working the North-West Territories on SSB. My CW speed is going up and I can only hope so is my accuracy. Speed without accuracy is less than useless.

Anyway I see that almost all my issues are due to my lack of computer power The Flex 1500 works fine and there’s nothing better than a 22″ panoramic display showing the activity around you when you’re searching and pouncing.

Most fun I’ve had in years 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Peter West. Bookmark the permalink.

About Peter West

I am retired. I'm invested into bike riding, guitar playing, yoga and Ham Radio. I am a former photojournalist, newspaper and magazine editor and public relations practitioner with national, regional and local experience. A long-time member of Toastmasters International and an active Amateur Radio (Ham) operator here in Canada I am taking on new challenges.

4 thoughts on “RAC Winter Contest and FlexRadio 1500

  1. Hi Peter !!!

    Name here is George Osier , N2JNZ in Ogdensburg , NY . I am getting a Flex 1500 next week and saw your comment on your computer you use. I’m hoping for no problems here. I have a Acer 7741Z with Pentium P6000 dual core at 1.86 GHZ and a 3 MB L3 cache plus 3 GB DDR3 RAM and Win 7 64 bit.

    I hoping this will be up to the task !!! It scored 678 on the Benchmark test but with some latency issues due to some drivers I have to check out.

    Could use some feedback on how you like the 1500 and how my computer should do ………..

    73

    George , N2JNZ

  2. Ended up with 123 Qs and 51 countries. With the new Flex .19 software the rig ran fantastic !!! Also the Bug sounds much better with less computer adjustment. SDR is cool !!!! Antenna here is the ZeroFive 40 meter vertical , 60 radials 12 ft long each. Was surprised at the number of stations on 40 !! I used S+P for the whole test and if I could hear em I could work em !!!! Cant wait for the SKS and I’ll be able to use all of my bugs now !!!

Leave a Reply

