Knobs – Human and otherwise

It’s Sunday morning and after a Friday night power yoga class that damn near killed me I keep forgetting I’m in my 60s.

Tried to pick up a 35-year-old fellow student in my yoga class which was going pretty well until Marion walked over and hit me with my rolled up matt. Okay that didn’t happen but it could have.

BTW and this comes from the book Younger Next Year which was highly recommended to me by my buddy Mike, VA3MW: Do you know what happens when a beautiful young woman looks at a man like me? She sees the wall behind me. How sad and true but how wonderful I have a wife who understands my ageing mind and where I put my attention.) so now I’m sipping my coffee feeling pretty zany and replying to tons of emails.

One of the best emails of the morning comes via VA3MW about what you can do with a SDR. If you’re not up on software-define radio you will be as this is the way of the future. Anyway to see how much fun you can have designing hardware interfaces to the SDR have a look at SOFTWARE DEFINED HAM RADIO blog where W9OY offers us another excellent posting.

As for the human knobs…I’m still reading through my emails and that’s coming next!

.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Peter West. Bookmark the permalink.

About Peter West

I am retired. I'm invested into bike riding, guitar playing, yoga and Ham Radio. I am a former photojournalist, newspaper and magazine editor and public relations practitioner with national, regional and local experience. A long-time member of Toastmasters International and an active Amateur Radio (Ham) operator here in Canada I am taking on new challenges.

One thought on “Knobs – Human and otherwise

  1. Hi Peter !!!

    I now have a Neil Campbell SDR computer for my 1500 !!! Just runs the radio NO internet. The 1500 is a top notch contest machine with it this way !!! CPU usage at 15% and and latency at 15uS average !!!!Works great with all my Bugs and SKs also !! Using the .22 upgrade. Cant wait for the OQP and WPX !!!

Leave a Reply

