First QRP QSO with new rig

Well it had to happen. I’m tuning the PAR end-feed antenna and I’ve got it working on 20 meters (40 is still challenging me) and I hear KP4AGW on 14.030 sending CQ so I thought what the heck. 

Well amazing but Angel heard my stunning four-watt signal radiating from the end-feed wire strung up 30 feet high in between two trees in my front yard and came back to me.

I’m going to apologize to Angel for my CW which was hampered by my sending from the arm of a Muskoka lawn chair or at least that’s my excuse for now. Anyway it’s a beginning and tons of fun. Let’s see the big boys haul their rigs out to their lawn chairs 🙂

The bands are getting better and Field Day is soon to be upon us.

I’m planning on running a single-op 40-meter QRP effort (I might do 20 if conditions are good) from VE3QSK’s country location about 15 minutes from my Oakville QTH.

The good news is the First Oakville Toastmasters is having its summer party at Mike and Teri’s so I get the best of both worlds. Field Day all day long and party and then maybe more Field Day. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Peter West. Bookmark the permalink.

About Peter West

I am retired. I'm invested into bike riding, guitar playing, yoga and Ham Radio. I am a former photojournalist, newspaper and magazine editor and public relations practitioner with national, regional and local experience. A long-time member of Toastmasters International and an active Amateur Radio (Ham) operator here in Canada I am taking on new challenges.

Leave a Reply

