Another RAC Report

Good to see RAC president Geoff, VE4BAW post another RAC Report. The last one came out a couple of months ago and good for Geoff to make the effort.

I see that there’s a call for volunteers to join the RAC leadership group. I don’t think most members realize just how many positions are likely to go unfilled following the annual meeting.

RAC has long been accused by some as being a top-down run organization and that grates on many and thus the reluctance to join.

As a former member of the executive I can fully understand this position.

RAC’s leadership model has been broken for a long time. Even Geoff in this report notes that we have to go back to days of Earle Smith to find a president who actually served an entire full term. That was back in 2006-2007.

Do you think this might be a clue to there being underlying management and personality issues?

I’m not blaming the current board or executive for this situation. They inherited it and I think it’s evident that the solution eludes them.

I’m a staunch believer in the rotation of leadership and some of these leaders should be rotated out of their positions for the good of RAC. Some should be encouraged to remain for the good of Amateur Radio in Canada.

It comes down to this: Geoff is left to beg for candidates to the office of president who, in his words, is “someone with the very best interests of Amateur Radio and RAC at heart and not their own interests of ego.”

This smacks of my country (my RAC) right or wrong mentality. It broaches no method of descent or creative thinking. If such were not the case then where is the nation-wide debate on RAC’s future. Where is the promised vision-statement about where we all (not just the executive) are going? Where is the membership campaign? Where are the new members? Heck: Where are the old members? Where are the members from Quebec?

I’m not anti-RAC. I’m pro RAC. I proudly wore my RAC t-shirt at Dayton and on Field Day.

RAC is not the problem. In fact, RAC is likely the solution.

The problem lies elsewhere and perhaps we’ll see a correction following the annual meeting?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Peter West. Bookmark the permalink.

About Peter West

I am retired. I'm invested into bike riding, guitar playing, yoga and Ham Radio. I am a former photojournalist, newspaper and magazine editor and public relations practitioner with national, regional and local experience. A long-time member of Toastmasters International and an active Amateur Radio (Ham) operator here in Canada I am taking on new challenges.

One thought on “Another RAC Report

  1. I agree with much of what you say, Peter, but I am concerned about the creation of yet MORE vice president positions.
    While there are no details given as to duties, etc. for these new posts, I suspect they could all be accomplished by appointed “managers” or such. By creating yet more VP positions, the RAC governance, for lack of a better word, just becomes more and more top heavy. There are also questions of how constitutional these new posts are (constitutional changes require vote by the general membership, as you know) and what the impact is going to be when it comes to monthly and annual meetings of the Board. Seems to me such gatherings will become rather unwieldy.
    There may be good intentions but, frankly, I’m concerned these moves could be ill-advised and cause even more problems for the organisation.
    “Bigger” or “more” does not necessarily mean “better”.

Leave a Reply

