This is what ham radio (and QRP) is all about

If you haven’t seen this You Tube video of the Eagle Cap SOTA Expedition you should take 20 minutes and sit back and enjoy.

This is what amateur radio is supposed to be all about. Having fun. And in this case having fun with QRP. (The video also shows how to make a Buddy Pole Antenna work really well using taps and tuned radials.)

Wish collectively we were having this much fun in Canada!

This entry was posted in QRP by Peter West. Bookmark the permalink.

About Peter West

I am retired. I'm invested into bike riding, guitar playing, yoga and Ham Radio. I am a former photojournalist, newspaper and magazine editor and public relations practitioner with national, regional and local experience. A long-time member of Toastmasters International and an active Amateur Radio (Ham) operator here in Canada I am taking on new challenges.

One thought on “This is what ham radio (and QRP) is all about

  1. You are sounding a bit cynical this morning Peter.

    I haven’t seen or heard much of late on the RAC’s and it’s current state of affairs. I have grown weary of the complaints and the apparent lack of action or re-action by the powers that be of the RAC. And, not to be overly negative of the RAC, I see that here in Ottawa the local Club presidents and the RAC are cooperatively looking into the proposed City of Ottawa process for those commercial or private users of the radio spectrum wishing to construct outdoor antenna structures.

    But to the point of posting of what ham radio and QRP is all about. Indeed, the many postings on youtube and elsewhere on this topic are quite enjoyable to watch and instills, in me at least, the desire to get out and do the same. Do a search on YouTube or the web in general for the Lost Islands Dxpedition. There is a clip on YouTube and a full DVD is available also available ($). This Dxpedition was undertaken a number of years ago by a group of Russian amateurs and their travel to high Russian Arctic north of Dikson to visit several small Arctic islands. The DVD is very professionally well done.

    Of late I have taken to getting out and about to operate QRP portable every weekend on at least the Saturday or Sunday. I have several locations I frequent depending on the prevailing weather and my mood; several very close to home and others within an hour’s drive. I try and time my outing so that I can be on the air and operating during one or another of the various QSO parties. I think that portable QRP and contest operating are a great combination and I can play as much or as little as what strikes my fancy or stop and have a chat with someone on the air or a passerby.

    cheers, Graham ve3gtc

Leave a Reply

