Flexradio Service

So I’m working the CQ WW CW DX contest and I notice a prominent hiss in the new Bose 15 noise cancelling headphones I’m using with the Flexradio 1500. Really annoying.

In casual operation especially on SSB I didn’t notice any hissing sounds but with quiet band conditions on CW it was most evident. Thought maybe I’d blown a transistor in the Flex’s audio card.

Anyway in a moment of clarity I sent Dudley at Flexradio an email asking for his thoughts before I sent the rig into for repair.

Dudley got back to me within 15 minutes with the suggestion to try some other headphones. I went back to my Heil headset and no really noticeable noise.

Humm.

Then after lunch got a second email from Dudley at Flex who, after talking to an engineer there, told me that Bose noise-cancelling headphones come with a sensitivity switch preset to high. The switch is on the plug that goes into the headphones and sure enough it was on high.

Turning it to low eliminated the noise.

This is fabulous customer service from a fabulous company that just happens to sell three of the best contest amateur radios on the market today.

OK so why are they so great?

One of the world-class contesters who lives near me in Ontario noted in his contest report on the Ontario Contest Club’s members-only reflector that he loved the way his filters in his K2 could work so close to adjacent big signals that often he didn’t even know they were there.

He’s right about the Elecraft radios (K2 and K3) as they are world-class but the Flexradios from the lowly 1500 at $600 and the 3000 at $1500 and the 5000 at $4,000 all come with a panoramic display built in.

Running a Flex at 25Hz filtering blocks out adjacent signals and the display allows you to see whether the big signal is up or down band from you.

After you’ve used a panoramic display, (which is a $600 option on the K3)  you can’t go back to blindly tuning only with your ears!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Peter West. Bookmark the permalink.

About Peter West

I am retired. I'm invested into bike riding, guitar playing, yoga and Ham Radio. I am a former photojournalist, newspaper and magazine editor and public relations practitioner with national, regional and local experience. A long-time member of Toastmasters International and an active Amateur Radio (Ham) operator here in Canada I am taking on new challenges.

Leave a Reply

