Flexing my muscles

I’ve done it!

I’ve got my Flex 1500 running on the new I7 2600 8-core computer with Writelog doing rig control and firing off its CW memories as well as CW display.

To do this I needed to install the SDR software (no issue) and Writelog (once I found my newest password) and then the virtual ports using Com0Com and finally a virtual audio cable.

Everything went beautifully and now I’m fully contest ready with the computer outputting to two screens.

I even got PSK-31 running on receive at 14.070 MHzso now I just have to figure out how to get it to transmit. RTTY is next. This is so cool 🙂

This entry was posted in FlexRadio, QRP by Peter West. Bookmark the permalink.

About Peter West

I am retired. I'm invested into bike riding, guitar playing, yoga and Ham Radio. I am a former photojournalist, newspaper and magazine editor and public relations practitioner with national, regional and local experience. A long-time member of Toastmasters International and an active Amateur Radio (Ham) operator here in Canada I am taking on new challenges.

4 thoughts on “Flexing my muscles

  1. Very nice setup Peter, the Flex radio sure is the next step in ham radio. I am sure that over time you will see the other manufactures get into similar SDR radios. The only down fall I have read is you have to make sure you have a powerful enough PC.

  2. Love that software, it was great to see your shack Peter, thanks! I’d love a Flex…

    I’m running PowerSDR IF on my TS-850S/AT. It’ll be even nicer when I get an antenna on it… hihi

    One of the things I noticed, is my PC’s motherboard has an embedded sound card that will sample at 192 KHz, so I’m seeing well over 180 KHz spectrum, which is awesome. Still not a Flex radio, but on the cheap, the 850’s a great rig and this makes it even nicer. Once I have an antenna up, I’ll start looking in to the other software as well… Good thing to know you’re around to ask questions. 🙂

  3. That looks brilliant! I’m using VSP right now and it took some wrangling to finally get working in Win7 but once the virtual ports are in, it works just like it should. I’ll have to try com0com though, it looks pretty good!

Leave a Reply

