RAC At Dayton

Radio Amateurs of Canada (such as it is) is returning to Dayton again this year after a successful debut last year after being missing in action for the previous 10 years.

Now RAC President Geoff Bawden has sent out a request for volunteers to staff the booth from May 18 to 20.

For those of you who agree with us that RAC needs to better communicate with the Amateur Radio community in Canada and engage its members as opposed to just firing off official bulletins, this might be your opportunity to directly let Geoff know what you’d like to see changed at RAC.

Unfortunately I won’t be volunteering as I think RAC already knows my thoughts on what needs to be  done.

BTW I notice Geoff is now signing his title as president and chairman of RAC. I wonder if title of chairman is new and, if so, has some significance? Maybe I just didn’t notice this before and maybe I just shouldn’t care.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Peter West. Bookmark the permalink.

About Peter West

I am retired. I'm invested into bike riding, guitar playing, yoga and Ham Radio. I am a former photojournalist, newspaper and magazine editor and public relations practitioner with national, regional and local experience. A long-time member of Toastmasters International and an active Amateur Radio (Ham) operator here in Canada I am taking on new challenges.

2 thoughts on “RAC At Dayton

  1. When I was last active in the hobby, I was generally underwhelmed by RAC and impressed by ARRL. Here we are 1.5 decades later and I am curious as to how my evaluation of both, and the hobby, will come out… I am looking forward to seeing them. A real community presence is important, including international events. I wonder what they will do to attract my membership? I have already renewed with ARRL.

Leave a Reply

