QRP RTTY Fun

I wasn’t sure you could run RTTY at 5 watts but my successful completion of the NAQP RTTY contest yesterday has me convinced.

Running five-watts (I know it was 5 watts because now I’ve got an Oak Hills Research WM-2 QRP Wattmeter…full scale at 10 watts or 1 watt or 100 milliwatts. Neat!) out of the FlexRadio 1500 driving the MMTTY RTTY engine inside of Writelog using virtual audio software and virtual port software all working together for the first time since I bought the rig was really really exciting.

Using an 80/40-meter dipole, the custom 80-10 Butternut-based vertical (which worked fine at 5 watts) and the 40-10-meter Hygain Explorer at 16 meters I could work everyone I could hear and heard RTTY signals from across Canada and down to California, Texas and Florida.

RTTY is great fun. You never know who you’re going to decode next. If you’ve got a rig with 500Hz CW filters or better 300 Hz filtering you’re going to have a great time at any power level. During the international contests there’s no thrill like getting called by rare DX who just pops up out of the noise.
While any rig can generate RTTY, using the Flex means you’ve got a panoramic display as wide as your screen. Honestly I can’t think of a reason to go back to an old-fashion rig that only allows you to hear what’s on the band. With the FlexRadio you get to see what’s around you on the band.

Honest Flex. You guys should send me a new 3000 for all the guys who have bought rigs based on what they read here 🙂

This entry was posted in FlexRadio, QRP, SDR Radio by Peter West. Bookmark the permalink.

About Peter West

I am retired. I'm invested into bike riding, guitar playing, yoga and Ham Radio. I am a former photojournalist, newspaper and magazine editor and public relations practitioner with national, regional and local experience. A long-time member of Toastmasters International and an active Amateur Radio (Ham) operator here in Canada I am taking on new challenges.

One thought on “QRP RTTY Fun

  1. I sold my Flex-1500 in preference to an FT-817ND!!
    The Flex was OK on SSB but terrible on CW.

    Now I’m less frustrated and happy again…

    Don’t miss the Flex one bit!

    Ve3ega

Leave a Reply

