Give RAC A Break!

Why can’t you give RAC a break?

Good question. Desires a good answer. 

Here’s where I’m at with RAC.  I’m all for it! 

In fact I am one (of many) of the best friends RAC ever had. I’ll be proudly wearing my RAC golf shirt tomorrow as I captain the Oakville ARC’s digital station. 

But what I won’t be doing is handing out blank membership forms this year. Why? Because I can’t support the way we are currently running RAC. It’s that simple. 

When we start doing some of the things suggested in the previous blog and less of some of the things we’re currently doing I’ll be more supportive. 

Right now with its membership base plummeting to unsustainable levels and few willing to volunteer to serve it’s only now a matter of time until we can either reorganize or replace our national organization. 

How do I know this to be true?

Yesterday in the mail I got a letter from RAC that was trying to sell me auto, home and travel insurance. I can get great rates and Air Miles too. How could anyone say no?

There was also a card promoting the “Maple Leaf Operator Membership” where for a messily  $100 you can help keep RAC afloat for another couple of months.  We’ll you do get a signed letter the RAC president of the hour. 

Maybe best of all is you’ll get honorable mention in TCA. I doubt I’ll be getting honorable mention in TCA. Nor will some of RAC’s other best friends. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Peter West. Bookmark the permalink.

About Peter West

I am retired. I'm invested into bike riding, guitar playing, yoga and Ham Radio. I am a former photojournalist, newspaper and magazine editor and public relations practitioner with national, regional and local experience. A long-time member of Toastmasters International and an active Amateur Radio (Ham) operator here in Canada I am taking on new challenges.

Leave a Reply

