CQ WW DX SSB Report

Well life was good until the power supply blew up 😦

Looks like the Flex 1500 was affected and now drops push-to-talk after a few minutes of being okay. So this is an intermittent problem which is the worst kind to have.

The actual contest was going pretty well. Worked a VK on 20 meters in the middle of Saturday afternoon (I think) long path.

That means I beamed east and worked Australia from the backside of the planet. And that at five watts too 🙂

Then after the power supply blew and before I realized I had an issue with push to talk I worked Gambia and Senegal one right after another. Very cool.

So the Flex and the power supply is in the repair shop. Fingers crossed.

Meanwhile I got a Timewave DSP-9+ digital audio filter for use with the Drake 2B and it is doing a great job.

Also at the same time the postman delivered my MagicBox which is a transmit/receive switch kit. Very cool. And in the same delivery I got a box from Ten Tec to house it.

Before anyone mentions it, I’m installing a 12-volt breakout box into the station as I think a commercial plug shorted and took out the supply. 

This entry was posted in QRP, Uncategorized by Peter West. Bookmark the permalink.

About Peter West

I am retired. I'm invested into bike riding, guitar playing, yoga and Ham Radio. I am a former photojournalist, newspaper and magazine editor and public relations practitioner with national, regional and local experience. A long-time member of Toastmasters International and an active Amateur Radio (Ham) operator here in Canada I am taking on new challenges.

Leave a Reply

