The RAC Report Revisited

It would be nice to take the RAC Report (a copy just arrived in my in-box) at face value but based on the blowup that’s been taking place behind the scenes I can’t help but question what I am reading.

For example, the RAC management group met earlier this month in Ottawa (where the most recent blowup took place) and the RAC Report admits that the organization has been in survival mode citing insolvency issues and a trending loss of membership.

The report reassures us that RAC is now moving from survival mode to a growth mode and that 2013 is going to be “a great year.”

Okay the report mentions some goals (increase membership among others) but no details were revealed. Might it be that no details have been developed?

But regardless of the lack of details the author the report thanks the participants for their honest, open and constructive dialogue.

I don’t know about you but when I read stuff like this it suggests to me that critical comments are considered less than honest, not open and not constructive. Maybe I am wrong here and reading too much into random comments but I doubt it.

Now why am I so negative about RAC as it is today?

It’s because the RAC of today looks way too much to me like the RAC of yesterday with personal issues continuing to cause hard feelings and unhappiness within the membership. (I may post more about the last issue as details become public.)

Another issue is every director who was welcomed back in the Report was returned to office by acclamation as the candidates ran unopposed or else there were no eligible nominees (not sure what the author of the Report meant by this but there you have it).

These unopposed acclamations were proclaimed as a good thing as it meant we didn’t have to go through the time and expense of actually running an open, above-board elections.

Acclamations are not a sign of a healthy organization folks.

A healthy organization needs new blood, new thoughts and new direction.

The lengthy list of open executive positions that are remaining unfilled isn’t a good sign either.

RAC is looking for a treasurer, corporate secretary, public relations officer, deputy directors and, to use the words of the Report’s author, and more…

Seems the ordinary guys who are still members are voting with their feet and the sound we’re hearing is the tramp, tramp, tramp of people walking out the door.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Peter West. Bookmark the permalink.

About Peter West

I am retired. I'm invested into bike riding, guitar playing, yoga and Ham Radio. I am a former photojournalist, newspaper and magazine editor and public relations practitioner with national, regional and local experience. A long-time member of Toastmasters International and an active Amateur Radio (Ham) operator here in Canada I am taking on new challenges.

One thought on “The RAC Report Revisited

  1. Good Morning Peter,,,,

    I just got my RAC Report in the email…. it was a bit of a shock as I am no longer a member…I won’t dwell on the negatives as I don’t believe I have a right to b!tch on how things are being run as I’m not a member… However it will take a lot of changes (you and I have both mentioned most of what needs fixing) before I will have the right to complain again….

    Keep up the good work

    73bob

Leave a Reply

