$20K RAC Contract

Congratulations to Radio Amateurs of Canada for being awarded a $20,000 government contract by Industry Canada.

The contract will pay to have RAC review the questions used for examinations to qualify radio amateurs in Canada. The question bank has long needed this upgrade so this is a welcome announcement.

It does pose some questions however that members should be asking.

Was RAC the only bidder on this contract or was RAQI (the amateur radio association in Quebec which is not directly affiliated with RAC) or some other individual or group involved?

I am only asking this based on the federal government’s insistence on open and fair processes when it comes to bidding for contracts. The Quebec corruption scandal which is in all the newspapers this morning is a lesson in how not to do it and we certainly don’t want to go there!

Since we’ve been awarded a $20,000 contract I am assuming we’re going to pay someone to do the work? If so, is there a fair and open process in place to pick whose going to get the money? Or is the work being done by volunteers and the RAC membership is the ultimate beneficiary? Wouldn’t that be great!

I am delighted to read that RAC is working with RAQI. I am assuming that RAQI is going to get a substantial portion of the $20,000 contract and if that’s so I’m wondering how much and again I am wondering about the process of finding someone to do the work or again is this going to be done by volunteers?

I see that Glenn MacDonell, VE3XRA, the deputy director for Ontario North East has been made project manager so we’ll direct these questions to him as he seems to be the guy in charge. ve3xra@rac.ca

BTW don’t try to reach me at my old RAC email address of ve3hg@rac.ca. This was the only one of a dozen email addresses I have that continually was spammed so I’m available at ve3hg@cogeco.ca or you may leave a comment below.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Peter West. Bookmark the permalink.

About Peter West

I am retired. I'm invested into bike riding, guitar playing, yoga and Ham Radio. I am a former photojournalist, newspaper and magazine editor and public relations practitioner with national, regional and local experience. A long-time member of Toastmasters International and an active Amateur Radio (Ham) operator here in Canada I am taking on new challenges.

One thought on “$20K RAC Contract

  1. Interesting. I think this is a worthy project–long overdue.

    I do hope the redaction will aim for successful outcomes for as many kinds of candidates as possible. What I mean by this is, I encourage the review panel to suggest changes that aren’t motivated by any particular amateur radio dogma. Things to avoid would be a bias towards examining technical prowess while shrugging off regulatory knowledge; or, probing understanding of legacy equipment while ignoring software techniques; or, axe grinding over vanishing traditions.

    — Rick de VE3ZUP

Leave a Reply

