UPS Cross Border Rip

I know better but in my last order to RT Systems I mistakenly checked the box for UPS instead of USPS when it came to shipping.

You see the US Postal Service hands off shipments to Canada Post who deliver packages from the US to my door charging only for any Canadian HST that’s required.

That’s how I got another shipment from RT Systems (nice people and great software) which arrived two weeks ago for my IC-880.

I don’t mind paying HST. Here in Canada we’ve got socialized medicine. I’m going for an MRI next week (just precautionary to check an existing condition) and it’s going to cost me $0 out of pocket.

Drive through some of the American states and you’ll know why you pay your Canadian taxes as your call falls into potholes or crashes into abrupt differences in the pavement.

I’ll pay my fair share but when it comes to UPS watch out!

The new software I ordered from RT Systems (again nice people who I hope will resend me my order via post. And yes I’ll pay any additional costs to them to resend it.) came via UPS who called me today and had their hands out trying to collect $30+ for brokerage fees to bring the DVD into Canada.

Gee UPS the USPS and Canada Post manage to deliver the first DVD for $12.76 which is what RT System charged to send me the $49 DVD. It arrived safe and sound in about 10 days.

So let’s add this up.The new price is $21 for shipping UPS (my mistake) plus UPS wants another $30 or so for brokerage fees for a total of $51 for a $49 order. I told UPS to send it back to RT Systems.

And the USA wonders why it has an economic crisis on its hands.

Way to go USPS and Canada Post. UPS….not so much.

This entry was posted in D-Star by Peter West. Bookmark the permalink.

About Peter West

I am retired. I'm invested into bike riding, guitar playing, yoga and Ham Radio. I am a former photojournalist, newspaper and magazine editor and public relations practitioner with national, regional and local experience. A long-time member of Toastmasters International and an active Amateur Radio (Ham) operator here in Canada I am taking on new challenges.

2 thoughts on “UPS Cross Border Rip

  1. Good evening Peter,

    I wonder if you were aware that Durham Radio sells the RT Systems products?

    I wasn’t until I just happened to stumble upon it on their website while searching for something. I suppose I took note because of your mention of the software on your blog.

    cheers, Graham ve3gtc

  2. I am with you, I have used UPS ONCE in the past and never again! I was dinged for a huge fee as well. Just the other week I ordered a Rigol scope and did not notice as well it was not USPS but UPS. I was very concerned about the brokerage fee, it was for some strange reason “0”. I did not ask just took the package closed and locked the door! I see the brokerage fee as a scam!
    Mike

Leave a Reply

