Two First Place Certificates Woo Hoo

Love getting this sort of mail from the Editors of CQ Magazine.

Today I received a certificate for First Place QRP CW Single OP Assisted All Bands Canada in the 2012 WW DX Contest. (This placed me #18 in the world and #4 in North America.)SSB

And I got the First Place QRP SSB Single Op Assisted All Band North America certificate as well. (This put me 13th in the world.)

The single-op assisted category is great fun and especially useful when running QRP as I can use my DX spotting net to populate my Writelog band map for multis.CW

I’m already making strategic plans for contesting this season.

The easy way to make more points when running QRP is to operate during contest weekends when there are great conditions. This is not always possible 🙂

The next secret is to create an operating schedule as there’s no way anyone my age can operate for 48 hours without some sleep (actually lots of sleep) so best pick your times and maximize your points.

Also this year, I’ve committed to the contesting group here in Oakville to learn N1MM (I love  Writelog but it appears I’m now a minority of one.) and incorporate the MMTTY RTTY software and the contest memory keyer.

This entry was posted in Contesting by Peter West. Bookmark the permalink.

About Peter West

I am retired. I'm invested into bike riding, guitar playing, yoga and Ham Radio. I am a former photojournalist, newspaper and magazine editor and public relations practitioner with national, regional and local experience. A long-time member of Toastmasters International and an active Amateur Radio (Ham) operator here in Canada I am taking on new challenges.

4 thoughts on “Two First Place Certificates Woo Hoo

  1. Many congrats Peter !! So far for CQ WPX CW I’m 1st Place USA and 1st place NA for SB SO 40M QRP ….. QRP works indeed !!!!!

Leave a Reply

