MoneyBall

I’ve been wondering why I didn’t go to the Hamilton flea market today and attend the annual general meeting of Radio Amateurs of Canada and engage in a debate with RAC president Geoff Bawden as he suggested.

And then I watched a movie called MoneyBall that starred Brad Pitt and I had my reluctance explained to me.MV5BMjAxOTU3Mzc1M15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMzk1ODUzNg@@._V1_SY317_CR0,0,214,317_

There is no need to debate what we all know to be true. There is no explaining what we believe in our hearts to those whose hearts are not open. There is no necessity to attempt to change perceptions and open minds when there is no willingness to go down that path.

Why any fool indeed can see that RAC is no longer working and perhaps never worked from day one. This is no one person’s fault but a fault that lies within the system we created.

What should be an association that celebrates the joys of our simple, honest hobby has degenerated and dissolved (There’s a better word here but it’s too late for me to conjure it up.) itself down to the lowest and basest levels of internecine savage conflict where it seems reasonable to pass constitutional changes that concern themselves with how to throw volunteers under the bus.

Where is the joy in that? Where is the happiness we should be having?

This is an association where some expend energy and take delight in the downfall of others and produce realms of paperwork justifying what has been done. It is dark place where management pretends itself to be leadership and fails miserably at both.

It’s where honest disagreement with process and purpose is seen as an excuse to throw someone out of the boat or award others with favours denied to the rest.

No I will not debate what I know to be true nor will I rest until we have turned the corner and realized the error of our ways and made amends to those we’ve harmed and those we’ve failed to serve.

I believe the old ways not only do not serve us but have never served us and I have never been so clear in my understanding.

And all this from a movie about baseball. Go figure. And that’s why I didn’t go and stayed home and watched a show.

 

This entry was posted in RAC by Peter West. Bookmark the permalink.

About Peter West

I am retired. I'm invested into bike riding, guitar playing, yoga and Ham Radio. I am a former photojournalist, newspaper and magazine editor and public relations practitioner with national, regional and local experience. A long-time member of Toastmasters International and an active Amateur Radio (Ham) operator here in Canada I am taking on new challenges.

Leave a Reply

