RAC Renewal? Nope!

Bill, VE3MEW, sent us the following comment:
My renewal came up at the first of Nov.   I did not renew.
If I spent the $56.00 I would “save” $10.00 on my yearly
Peteborough Amateur Radio Club dues… somehow, the
math does not sound right here…!!
 
That is a fair chunk of change for 6 little publications
per year that don’t seem to contain much ‘meat’.
 
I think I get much more from my $39.00 ARRL membership,
even though I am unable to get LOTW to work…!
 
Years past, I worked my way from Assistant Ontario
Director for CARF up to a Vice President.. Back then,
we actually worked our butts off to serve the amateur
community all across the country.
 
Bullying, political power struggles and other such idiotics
were not apparent…  we had no time for such antics.
 
The current operating/managing style of RAC has sent
several excellent volunteers down the road. The loss affects
us all and I look forward to the day when the people
responsible are gone…. even if that means taking the whole
RAC organization with them… off into the sunset, never to be
seen or heard again.

 

This entry was posted in RAC by Peter West. Bookmark the permalink.

About Peter West

I am retired. I'm invested into bike riding, guitar playing, yoga and Ham Radio. I am a former photojournalist, newspaper and magazine editor and public relations practitioner with national, regional and local experience. A long-time member of Toastmasters International and an active Amateur Radio (Ham) operator here in Canada I am taking on new challenges.

3 thoughts on “RAC Renewal? Nope!

  1. I completely agree with Bill (VE3MEW).

    ARRL membership with QST offers a far better value proposition!

    The slow devolution of RAC is so sad to see!!

  2. SO refreshing to see someone (Bill VE3MEW) telling it like it is. The fact of his background with advocacy of Amateur Radio makes his views that much more compelling.
    As one who has ‘been there’, I share his disappointment and disillusion. The sad part is, so many are unable or unwilling to see what is happening to our national organisation. For that, we all suffer. The beat goes on.
    I, for one, have no intention of supporting that beat by renewing my membership when it comes due next August. It’s become a lost cause thanks to the current idiotic compact of egos, more’s the pity.

    73
    Bob VE3BDB

Leave a Reply

