How To Win The CQ WW WPX CW*

You may not be a big gun running in the single-operator, high-power category with big antennas and the ability to run CW for 48 hours without sleep but you can still win the CQ WW WPX CW.Simplex_Pro-1

And what I am suggesting is you can win a *category.

Some categories are pretty easy to win and some are much more competitive but submitting your log in just one category gives you a much better chance at winning some wallpaper.

For example, this weekend, I’m going to be running five-watts QRP and I’ll start working guys on all bands. I’m pretty competitive for a QRP station on 40 through 10 but I just don’t have competitive quality antennas for 80 or 160 meters.

I’ll be using Writelog as my logging program. I want to get used to N1MM which has seen a substantial revamp which was demonstrated at Dayton during the contest forum but this would offend my don’t change anything 48-hours before a contest rule.

At the end of the contest I’ll have a look at my scores and then and only then will I create my Cabrillo log file and pick my category.DSCF2059

This is a welcome feature in the WPX contests. Depending on conditions I might go all band or single band but I can wait until the end to make this decision.

For example, unlikely as it maybe, if 10 meters opened up and I did a mere 62 contacts I’d beat last year’s top 10 meter score. To take top all band score for Canada I’d need to work at least 500 Qs and 1100 to take the top category. Fifteen is pretty open but 20 single band is very competitive.

As I’ve said before, working QRP during a CW contest doing search and pounce operation isn’t any handicap when compared to running 100 watts in decent conditions. In awful conditions (of which we’ve had a lot of) it’s nice to have the 100-watt rig to fall back on and I’d cheerfully run a KW in some contests (especially on phone).IMG_0169

Now if I was really brave I’d fire up the new NorCal 20 and work QRP single band 20 without benefit of a keyer. Now that would be a hoot. Maybe next year 🙂

This entry was posted in QRP by Peter West. Bookmark the permalink.

About Peter West

I am retired. I'm invested into bike riding, guitar playing, yoga and Ham Radio. I am a former photojournalist, newspaper and magazine editor and public relations practitioner with national, regional and local experience. A long-time member of Toastmasters International and an active Amateur Radio (Ham) operator here in Canada I am taking on new challenges.

2 thoughts on “How To Win The CQ WW WPX CW*

Leave a Reply

