HF-2 Installation

Butternut’s 32-foot HF-2 is a pretty nice antenna for 40 and one segment of 80 meters. I say one segment as the 80 meter resonant frequency is about 50 kHz in size which is just fine for CW contests.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So I’ve got mine tuned for the low end of 80 and on 40 it’s under 2:1 or at least it will be once I get the tuned radials installed in some sort of permanent configuration across the band.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

SWR is under 2:1 across 40 and dips to 2:1 on 80 around 3540 which is great for CW.

Forty is easy to get working but on 80 the HF-2 wants 66-foot tuned radials and I can do 66 feet just not all in one direction.

For best results the HF-2 wants four radials on 80 and 4 on 40. So I can get two radials per band in on a permanent basis and two more on contest weekends 🙂

Nice to have a meter to do this work.

Nice to have a meter to do this work.

Here’s hoping we get better conditions. The noise this summer has been extraordinarily awful so the antenna is a hedge on nighttime activity this winter especially on 80 meters where I am pretty deaf and mute at the same time. Also I put the word out yesterday that the Hy-Gain Explorer has a 20-meter trap that’s gone bad. The antenna needs to come down, get fixed and back up.

Now I’m going to find out who my real friends are 🙂

I’ve heard from most of them already and we’re picking a date (likely a weekday evening). There’s likely going to be food and drink for the volunteers…..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Peter West. Bookmark the permalink.

About Peter West

I am retired. I'm invested into bike riding, guitar playing, yoga and Ham Radio. I am a former photojournalist, newspaper and magazine editor and public relations practitioner with national, regional and local experience. A long-time member of Toastmasters International and an active Amateur Radio (Ham) operator here in Canada I am taking on new challenges.

Leave a Reply

